New Year’s Resolution/Challenge: 100 Books in 365 days

This year,  I have a feasible New Year’s resolution that will help me learn and get me to write some more: I intend on reading at least 100 books this coming year-2014. Part of this will be rereading all of my books that were assigned during grad school as a refresher. It comes out to ~75 books for the first part. I figure that leaves room for 25 good fiction books, too. I will write some blog reflections on the ones that really stick with me. Blogging will also hold me accountable.

So, what if I don’t finish reading all of the books by the time 2015 hits? No problem! I will just keep reading anyway.

The first book of the year is Allie Brosh’s, Hyperbole and a Half: Unfortunate Situations, Flawed Coping Mechanisms, Mayhem, and Other Things That Happened. Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and a Half web comics are an absurdist and hilarious reflection on everything from a her childhood desire to consume an entire cake, to the dangers of home invasion by geese, to insight on coping with depression. Really I’m doing Allie no justice. You just have experience the blog.

First book of the year! I'm managing to hide my excitement in this picture pretty well and actually had a mouthful of cherry cordials  since I like to eat chocolate when  I read. I saved the Internet from chewed chocolate smile.

First book of the year! I’m managing to hide my excitement in this picture pretty well and actually had a mouthful of cherry cordials since I like to eat chocolate when I read. I saved the Internet from chewed chocolate smile.

UPDATE: I finished the book in just shy of three hours. I laughed so hard I cried and then had to go pee because I was laughing too hard, but then realized I couldn’t breathe and that somehow made me laugh harder. It only took that long to read ’cause I had to put the book down to stop laughing and wipe away the tears so I could read more. If you want to check out some of the hilarity, try this post called “The god of cake.” (I forgot to put up a link to the blog, earlier.)

One response to “New Year’s Resolution/Challenge: 100 Books in 365 days

  1. Pingback: 365 Grateful Project – Day 1- 2014 | Life: Clear yet hazy

Leave a Reply

